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Keep In Mind 
This presentation is for informational purposes only. 
Housing issues require thoughtful analyses of the 

facts and the law. 
 If you are low-income or a senior citizen and are 

facing a housing issue you may contact Colorado 
Legal Services at 719-471-0380 or in person at 102 S. 
Tejon St. Ste. 430



Before You Move Into Your New Home



PUT EVERYTHING IN WRITING!



A lease is a contract between you and 
your landlord. 

Oral leases are valid BUT
More difficult to prove specific terms
Presumed to be month to month
Cannot have a lifetime oral lease
Best practice is to have a written agreement



Rental Application Fairness Act 

 Landlord shall not charge an application fee unless the landlord 
uses the entire amount to cover costs in processing. 

 “Costs” may be the actual expenses to process an application or 
the average expense for processing multiple applications.  

 Cannot charge a different amount to different applicants.
 Landlord must provide a written disclosure for the anticipated or 

actual expenses to process the application and a receipt for any 
fee. 

 Landlord must make good faith efforts to return remaining 
amounts of the fee(s) to applicant(s).



What Rental Or Credit History 
Can A Landlord Consider?
Rental or Credit history: the past 7 years.
No consideration for history that is older 

than 7 years shall.



What Criminal History Can The 
Landlord Consider?
Arrest Record(s)?
 Can never be a reason to deny an application.

Criminal conviction(s)? 
 No convictions older than 5 years
 EXCEPT

Methamphetamine related offenses generally 
Offenses that require a person to register as a sex offender 

pursuant to Colorado Revised Statute § 16-22-103
Homicide related offenses 
Stalking



What Happens If Your Application 
Is Denied?
The landlord shall provide you with a written 

notice of the application denial. 
The notice shall include the reasons for the 

denial. 
The landlord shall make good faith efforts to 

provide this to you within 20 calendar days of 
the decision to deny the application.



What Happens If The Landlord 
Does Not Follow The Law?
 The applicant can seek 3 times the amount of the 

application fee, court costs, and reasonable 
attorney fees. 

Must give the landlord notice of the intention to file 
the action at least 7 days before filing the action. 

 Landlord can cure the violation 
 If a denied applicant brings a meritless claim then 

will be liable for landlord’s court costs and attorney 
fees. 

 Colorado Revised Statutes § 38-12-901,§ 38-12-902, § 38-12-903, § 38-12-904, § 38-12-905



Review Your Lease 



What is the length of the lease? 
Month-to-month, year, 2 year
What is the rollover provision, if 

any? 
What are potential fees?
What are the responsibilities for 

upkeep and maintenance? 
Where should you send notices?



Rules And Regulations 
Additional conditions of tenancy
Review your lease for any reference to additional 

rules and regulations 
May receive a copy with your lease
 If its alleged that a rule or regulation is being broken 

there is a risk of a forcible entry and detainer
For example, are there quiet hours in the building, 

guest limitations, grievance procedure for 
disputes, etc?



Other Sections to Review

Notice related section
Is your tenancy an “exempt residential 

agreement”?
Warranty of Habitability related sections 
Appliances which are included in the lease.
Email address for electronic notice delivery



LEGISLATIVE UPDATE
Required Lease Clause 

 Written lease must include statement that Colorado Revised Statute 24-34-
502(1) prohibits income discrimination and requires landlord to accept any 
lawful and verifiable source of money. 

 Does not apply to landlords with 5 or fewer single-family rental homes and 
no more than 5 total rental units including any single-family homes.



What Is An “Exempt Residential 
Agreement”?
Exempt Residential Agreements give a tenant 5 days 

notice instead of 10
Notice is provided in the written lease that 10 day 

notice period does not apply to tenancy
Only applies to:

Single family home 
Not an apartment or condo

Leased by landlord who owns 5 or fewer single family 
rental homes 



Option to Purchase 

 Carefully consider before entering into an option to purchase agreement 

 Seek legal counsel prior to signing
 Large financial commitment

 Ensure you have protection for building/keeping equity



Unenforceable Lease Provisions

Cannot waive: 
Right to the return of the security deposit 
Warranty of habitability 

Barring a separate written agreement
Covenant of quiet enjoyment 
5 or 10 Day written demand for unpaid rent 
Court process for FED(eviction) 
Late Fees greater than $50 or 5% of late rent



Unenforceable Lease Provisions

A lease cannot include an unreasonable liquidated 
damages clause that assigns a cost stemming from 
an eviction notice or action

A lease cannot include a one way, fee shifting 
clause that awards attorney fees and court costs 
only to one party. Any fee shifting clause must 
award attorney fees to prevailing party

Waiver of mandatory mediation – UPDATE
A clause to recoup cost of mediation - UPDATE



Get A Copy Of Your Lease!

You need a copy for your own 
records if there ever is a dispute.
The law requires your landlord to 

provide you with a copy within 7 days 
of you signing the lease. 
CRS § 38-12-801



What happens if my landlord changes 
or my building is sold?
 If your landlord changes but 

ownership remains the same: 

 New landlord must provide you 
with updated contact 
information to include new 
address(es) for notice(s).

 If your new landlord does not do 
this then contact your landlord 
requesting the information.

 If your building is for sale AND your 
tenancy is jeopardized

 Can record lease with the clerk 
and recorder
 Consult legal advice prior to 

doing so

 If no current lease then may want 
to contact new owner to propose 
a new rental agreement



Receipts For Rent And Security 
Deposit
Applies to security deposit and rent if:

You pay in person with Cash or Money order –
immediate receipt

You pay by mail with cash or money order and request 
a receipt – 7 days for receipt

Colorado Revised Statute § 38-12-802



Rent Increases
 Landlords shall not increase rent more than one time in any 12 month 

period of consecutive occupancy. Regardless of:
 A written rental agreement 
 The length of tenancy 
 It’s a fixed term, month-to-month tenancy, or an indefinite term

Colorado Revised Statute § 38-12-204; § 38-12-702
 Landlords may only increase rent upon at least 60 days’ written notice to 

tenant

 Landlords may not terminate a residential tenancy with no written 
agreement by serving a notice to quit with the primary purpose of 
increasing the rent with less than 60 days notice

Colorado Revised Statute § 38-12-701



Late Fees
 Landlords shall not take any of the following actions:
 Charge a tenant/home owner a late fee unless a rent payment is late by at least 

7 calendar days 
 Charge a tenant/home owner a late fee that exceeds $50 or 5% of the amount 

of past due rent
 Require a tenant/home owner to pay a late fee unless the late fee is disclosed in 

the rental agreement 
 Remove or exclude a tenant from a dwelling or initiate a Court process for the 

removal or exclusion of a tenant from a dwelling because the tenant fails to pay 
one or more late fees to the landlord

 Terminate a tenancy or other estate at will or a lease in a mobile home park 
because a tenant or home owner fails to pay or more late fees to the landlord 

 Impose a late fee on a tenant/home owner for the late payment or nonpayment 
of any portion of the rent that a rent subsidy provider rather than the 
tenant/home owner is responsible for paying

 Impose a late fee more than once for each late payment except that a landlord 
may impose a late fee more than once for a late payment if the total amount of 
the late fees does not exceed $50 or 5% of the amount past due. 

 Require a tenant/home owner to pay any amount of interest on a late fee



Late Fees (continued)
 Landlords shall not take any of the following actions:
 Charge a late fee unless the landlord provided the tenant/home owner written 

notice of the late fee within 180 days after the date upon which the rent 
payment was due 

 A lease provision that does not comply with this statute is void and unenforceable 
and a tenant may bring an injunctive relief 

 A landlord who violates this statute shall pay to the tenant a penalty in the 
amount of $50 for each violation 

 A landlord who violates this statute has 7 days to cure the violation and that time 
begins when the landlord receives written or electronic notice of the violation

 If a landlord violates this statute and fails to timely cure the violation a tenant may 
bring a civil action seeking one or more of the following remedies:
 Compensatory damages for injury or loss suffered 
 A penalty of $50-$1000 for each violation, payable to the tenant/home owner
 Costs, including attorney fees to the prevailing party and 
 Other equitable relief the Court finds appropriate 



Late Fees 

A tenant/home owner may raise an alleged 
violation of this statute as an affirmative defense 
in an eviction proceeding 

A “late fee” is distinct from rent and a rental 
agreement may not classify a late fee as rent for 
the purposes of C.R.S. § 13-40-104(1)(d)



Take Pictures



Why are pictures important?
Document the condition of your 

residence at the beginning
Take pictures of everything
Damaged or undamaged

At the conclusion of your tenancy this 
documentation is crucial for security 
deposit disputes 



Walk Through 



Walk Through 
Why is it important to take this extra step?

You and your landlord can identify preexisting damage
You enter into the contract (lease) with the same 

understanding of the condition of your residence

Tips
Be critical but not unreasonable

You are not being a bother by pointing out existing 
damage; you are paying for the residence.

Remember: This is a business relationship
Beneficial for both parties to have the same understanding of 

the condition of the residence when you begin your tenancy.



Warranty Of Habitability 
The promise that your residence is fit for 

human living.
There are a list of things that, by law, 

must be present in your residence. 
That list can be found in your packet



Electronic Notice 
 A work order IS NOT NOTICE
 What makes up an electronic notice?
 “Notice by electronic mail or electronic portal or management 

communications system that is available to both a landlord and 
a tenant”

 If you send an electronic notice you must send it in the manner 
that your landlord typically uses to communicate with you. 
(NEW) 



Where Do I Send An Electronic Notice 
If My Lease Does Not Say Where?
 If your lease is not specific
“The tenant shall communicate with the landlord in 

a manner that the landlord has previously used to 
communicate with the tenant”

 If the lease is silent then practice will control
If your landlord texts, then you can text, etc. 

You must retain “sufficient proof of delivery” of the 
electronic notice.



Conditions Subject To Warranty Of 
Habitability 



Waterproofing and weather protection of 
your roof, walls, doors and windows 



Plumbing and gas in good working 
order



Running water, reasonable amounts of 
hot water, proper fixtures, connection to 

sewages disposal system



Functioning heating facilities in good working 
order and in compliance with the law 



Electrical lighting/wiring and equipment in 
good working order and in compliance with 

the law



Common areas under 
control of the landlord 
kept reasonably clean



Appropriate extermination in 
response to infestation 



Bed Bugs in Residential Premises

 Tenant shall promptly notify the landlord via written or electronic 
notice when the tenant knows or reasonably suspects the dwelling 
unit contains bed bugs.

 Landlord shall do the following within 96 hours of receiving tenant’s 
notice 
 Provide tenant with 48 hours notice of landlord/inspector/pest 

control agent’s intent to enter the dwelling
Obtain an inspection by a qualified inspector 

 Landlord may enter the dwelling unit or contiguous unit for the 
purpose of inspection

 If inspection confirms bed bugs then shall inspect all contiguous 
dwelling units as promptly as is reasonably practical

 Landlord is responsible for all costs associated with an inspection for, 
and treatment of, bed bugs.



Bed Bugs in Residential Premises 

 After the inspection, the landlord must give tenant written notice 
within 2 business days whether the dwelling unit contains bed bugs. 

 If the inspector determines that neither the unit nor any contiguous 
unit, the landlord’s notice must inform the tenant that if the tenant’s 
concerns remain that the tenant may contact the local health 
department.

 If the inspector confirms the presence of bed bugs then the 
inspector must provide a report to landlord within 24 hours. 

 Not more than 5 business days after the inspection, the landlord 
shall commence reasonable measures to effectively treat the bed 
bug presence (including retaining pest control services).



Bed Bugs in Residential Premises

 Tenant shall comply with reasonable measures to permit the 
inspection and treatment.

 Tenant is responsible for all costs associated with preparing the 
dwelling for inspection and treatment 

 A tenant who knowingly and unreasonably fails to comply with the 
inspection and treatment requirements is liable for the cost of any 
treatments and contiguous dwelling units if the need for treatment 
arises from tenant’s noncompliance 



Bed Bugs in Residential Premises

 Landlords shall not rent a unit that landlord knows or reasonably 
suspects to contain bed bugs

 Upon request, landlord shall disclose to the prospective tenant 
whether, to the landlord’s knowledge, the unit contained bed bugs 
within the last 8 months and/or disclose the last date the unit was 
inspected for and found to be free of bed bugs. 



Bed Bugs – Liability

 Landlords who fail to comply are responsible for tenant’s actual 
damages.

 Landlord may apply for injunctive relief against a tenant who 
refuses to provide reasonable access to the dwelling or fails to 
comply with reasonable request for inspection or treatment 

 If a court finds that tenant has unreasonably failed to comply the 
court may issue an order including:
Granting access to the dwelling 
Granting landlord right to inspect and treat the dwelling
 Requiring tenant  to comply with specific inspection and 

treatment measures or assessing the costs and damages related 
to tenant’s noncompliance 



Adequate amount of outside 
receptacles for garbage 



Working floors, stairways, and 
railings  



Locks on exterior doors, security 
devices on windows that open



Compliance with all 
applicable building, 
housing, and health 
codes which materially 
interferes with your life, 
health, or safety



Mold 

Microscopic organisms or fungi that can grow in damp 
conditions in the interior of a building.

 Residence is uninhabitable due to mold when 
“There is mold that is associated with dampness, or 

there is any other condition causing the residential 
premises to be damp, which condition, if not remedied, 
would materially interfere with the health or safety of the 
tenant, excluding the presence of mold that is minor 
and found on surfaces that can accumulate moisture 
as part of their proper functioning or intended use.”



Appliances
 Refrigerator, range stove, or oven included within the 

residence for the use of the tenant pursuant to the rental 
agreement or any other agreement between the landlord 
and the tenant.  

Applies only to the appliances specifically listed in a 
written agreement or otherwise actually provided by your 
landlord at the beginning of your tenancy. 

 If you make a demand based upon appliances and your 
landlord replaces the appliance, there is a presumption 
that the replacement appliance is not installed in 
retaliation so long as it has substantially the same features 
as the original appliance



Condition that materially interferes 
with life, health, or safety

Subjective standard based upon the tenant’s 
individual characteristics

Significantly alters a landlord’s response 



When Does A Landlord Breach 
The Warranty Of Habitability?
The residence is uninhabitable 

As described by statute (list of conditions) or otherwise 
unfit for human habitation or

In a condition that materially interferes with a tenant’s 
life, health, or safety

AND 
The landlord has received “reasonably complete” 

written or electronic notice of the condition and failed 
to “commence remedial action by employing 
reasonable efforts” within the required times



When Does A Landlord Have to 
Commence Remedial Action?
Three different timelines:
Condition that materially interferes with your 

life, health, or safety
24 Hours

Condition that is uninhabitable by statute
96 hours BUT only if tenant provides written 

permission to enter to commence repairs 
Mold 



When Does A Landlord Have to 
Commence Remedial Action? Mold 
 Within 96 hours after receiving notice 

 Install a containment stopping active sources of water to the mold 

 Install a high-efficiency particulate air filtration device to reduce exposure 

 Maintain the containment until the following actions are executed 

 Within reasonable amount of time must 

Establish appropriate protections for workers and occupants

Eliminate or limit moisture sources and dry all materials 

Decontaminate or remove damaged materials as appropriate 

Evaluate whether the premises has been successfully remediated 

Reassemble the premises to control sources of moisture and nutrients to 
prevent/limit recurrence



Does My Landlord Have To Respond 
To A Habitability Notice/Demand?
 YES
 A landlord now must respond to a tenant’s reasonably 

complete notice within 24 hours of receiving the notice.
 The time is extended up to 72 hours if the premises is 

inaccessible because of damage due to an environmental 
public health event. (NEW) 

 The response must contain 
 The landlord’s intention for remedying the condition
An estimate of when the remediation will start 
An estimate of when the remediation will finish 

 Proof of filing an insurance claim is not proof of 
remediation (NEW)



Does A Landlord Ever Have To Provide 
An Alternate Residence?
Yes.
 If the residence is in a condition that “materially 

interferes with the tenant’s life, health or safety”
AND the tenant makes such a request 
A landlord SHALL PROVIDE 
A comparable dwelling unit or a hotel room, as 

selected by the landlord, at no expense of cost to the 
tenant



Does A Landlord Ever Have To Provide 
An Alternate Residence?
A landlord is not responsible for any other 

costs that arise after the relocation period 
A tenant is still responsible for rent per the 

terms of the lease during this time
Only applies to material interference with 

life, health, or safety



What Can A Tenant Do If The Landlord 
Breaches The Warranty Of Habitability?
After providing proper notice and not receiving a 

response/remedial action
Terminate the lease 
If environmental public health event, tenant provides 

notice, landlord cannot fix problem within 60 days, 
and cannot provide alternative housing 

Obtain injunctive relief in County Court or District 
Court

Defend against an eviction for nonpayment of rent
Other monetary options 



Monetary Options – Withholding Rent

Need to pay the amount withheld to the court to 
defend self against eviction for nonpayment 

 If there is a problem with the notice then there is no 
defense and you will be evicted 

Would recommend seeking legal advice before 
taking this step

Remember: Can bring a claim for breach of 
warranty of habitability outside of an eviction



Monetary Options – Deducting Cost of 
Repairs  

 Incredibly specific process 
Does not apply to everyone
Cannot deduct for certain issues
Seek legal advice before taking this action 
 If a tenant wrongfully deducts rent then landlord will get a 

money judgment in that amount withheld and tenant will 
also likely be evicted for nonpayment (unless there are 
other defenses)

 If it is a bad faith deduction then it is an automatic 
eviction and a money judgement for 2 times the amount 
withheld



Are There Exceptions To The Warranty 
of Habitability?
Yes
Must be a written agreement that is separate from 

the lease, signed by the parties, and supported by 
adequate consideration

Tenant must have the skills to perform the work 

 If you are unsure about whether this applies to you 
please seek legal advice. 



Warranty of Habitability

A breach of the warranty is now a defense to a 
collection action(in addition to an eviction case) 
based upon nonpayment of rent 

 If a tenant raises the warranty of habitability as an 
affirmative defense will have to post a bond unless 
the tenant is found to be indigent pursuant to C.R.S. 
§ 38-12-507(1)(c)(II) then will not be required to pay 
a bond to raise warranty of habitability as an 
affirmative defense. 



Warranty of Habitability
 A tenant will be indigent, and wont have to pay a bond for 

the Warranty of Habitability defense, if their net income is 
5x or less the annual rental of the tenant’s premises, after 

allowing all exemptions available to families occupying 
dwellings in low-rent housing authorized under the United 
States Housing Act of 1937
In calculating annual rental , the Court must include 

the average annual cost of heat, water, electricity, gas, 
and other necessary services or facilities

OR
Less than 250% of the federal poverty line.

This calculation does not include a tenant’s assets



Warranty of Habitability  

 The Court shall determine the reduction of a premise’s rental 
value in its uninhabitable state to the date of the trial 

 The Court shall deny possession to the landlord and deem the 
tenant the prevailing party 
The tenant has to pay the rent that has accrued to the date 

of trial taking the reduction of value into consideration
This payment must be made to either the Court or the 

landlord within 14 days of the Court’s judgment 
The Court shall award possession to the landlord if the tenant 

fails to pay the reduced rent ordered by the Court within the 
14 day period. 



Warranty of Habitability

The Court may order the landlord to make 
repairs and correct the uninhabitable 
conditions 

The Court shall order that the monthly rent 
that the rent be limited to the reasonable 
rental value until the repairs are completed

If the Court orders repairs, the Court’s 
jurisdiction continues to ensure compliance.



LEGISLATIVE UPDATE
Retaliation 

 A landlord shall not retaliate against a tenant for making a good faith complaint 
regarding the warranty of habitability to the landlord or to a governmental 
agency or organizing or becoming a member of a tenant’s association or similar 
organization 

 Retaliation includes:
 Increasing rent or decreasing services 

 Terminating a lease without consent of tenant except as permitted by law 

 Bringing or threatening to bring an action for possession (eviction)

 Taking action that intimidates, threatens, discriminates or retaliates against tenant.

 Retaliation is a defense against eviction 



Other resources 
Colorado Springs Planning and 

Community Development 
Neighborhood Services Office 

Department of Health
El Paso County Planning and 

Community Development Office 



Code Enforcement 

Only has the authority to enforce the minimum 
housing standards of the City Code. 

Does not have the ability to enforce the Warranty of 
Habitability

Some issues are not included in the city code that 
are in the Warranty of Habitability 
Example: Mold 

Can call both but Warranty of Habitability is for 
Court and Code Enforcement is for City Code 



Security Deposit 



When can your landlord keep 
your deposit?
Damage beyond “normal wear and tear”
Nonpayment of rent
Abandonment of the residence 
Nonpayment of utilities/repair/cleaning 

work contracted for by you 



What is “normal 
wear and tear”? 

The usual 
deterioration 
which occurs 
when living in a 
residence. 

What is not “normal 
wear and tear”?

Careless or 
intentional 
destruction of 
property 
Example: a hole in a wall.



What should you do 
when you move out?



Clean the residence 



Do another walkthrough 
and take more pictures 



Return the keys and provide a 
forwarding address 



How long does my landlord have to 
return my deposit and/or a statement 
of deductions?

Up to 30 days
Unless it is extended in the lease, 

can be up to 60 days 



What happens if your landlord 
does not return your deposit? 
Send a demand letter
Send it via certified mail
Keep a copy of the letter 





Your landlord may only 
refund part of your deposit 

Beware of a restrictive 
endorsement!



If you do not receive a 
response to your demand 
 You can initiate a small claims action if the amount is 

under $7500.
Can seek treble damages if filed within one year and 

willful withholding found by the Court.
If the landlord deliberately fails to return 

the security deposit during the additional seven-
day period, the retention is logically "willful" under 
this section
 Turner v. Lyon, 189 Colo. 234, 539 P.2d 1241 (1975)



Early lease termination 
When is it permissible? 
 The language of the lease
 Breach of warranty of habitability 
 Protections for the victims of domestic violence, 

domestic abuse, stalking, and/or unlawful sexual 
behavior 

Military orders 
 Act of God 

So long as it was not caused by your negligence. For 
example, if you cause a fire. 



Early lease termination 
Multiple Warranty of Habitability breaches 
Same condition of the residence renders the 

home uninhabitable at least 2 times within a 6 
month period 

The condition is not appliance related 
14 day notice to landlord in writing necessary to 

terminate the lease 



Mobile Home Park Act 



Additional rights for tenants in mobile 
home parks  who own their homes:
Requires a written lease or rental agreement 
 Termination of tenancy must be for cause 
As opposed to ending the tenancy after the 

lease ends with a notice to quit. 
Demand – 90 day cure period 
Notice to Quit – 90 days to move or sell the home
Security Deposit – no greater than one month rent 



Lease Requirements

Management shall adequately disclose the terms and 
conditions of a tenancy in writing in a rental agreement 
to any prospective home owner

 The disclosures MUST include:
The day that unpaid rent is considered in default for 

the purpose of establish a late fee
Name and mailing address where a manager’s 

decision can be appealed AND 
All charges to the home owner other than rent, 

including late fees



What constitutes “cause” for 
termination?
 Home is not in compliance with local ordinances and state laws and 

regulations relating to mobile homes and home lots 
 For example, improper installation of the home can violate regulations and 

ordinances. 

 Not following the parks’ written rules and regulations 

 The park is condemned or changes use 

 Knowing false or misleading statements on tenancy application

 Your/guest’s/friend’s conduct unreasonably endangers the life of a person 
in the park 

 Your/guest’s/friend’s conduct damages or destroys the property of a 
person in the park in a willful, wanton, or malicious  manner

 Your/guest’s/friend/s conduct constitutes a felony offense or was the basis 
for an action that declared the home a class 1 public nuisance 



When can the park change its 
own rules and regulations?

With your permission
Immediately 

Without your permission
60 days notice 



Home Owner Right to Privacy

Park Management has no right to enter a home 
owner’s home without first obtaining the written 
consent of the homeowner, to carry out statutory 
duties, in the case of an emergency, or when the 
home has been abandoned. 

Written consent may be revoked at any time
Notice of entry must include the date and 

approximate time of planned entry and be 
delivered in a manner reasonably likely to be seen 
or heard by the resident in a timely manner 



Mobile Home Park Dispute Resolution Act

 Any party may file a complaint with the Colorado Division of 
Housing. 

 Once the complaint is received, the Division will investigate the 
complaint. 

 If appropriate, the Division will facilitate negotiations between the 
parties. 



Mobile Home Park Dispute Resolution Act

 If the parties are unable to come to an agreement, the division shall 
make a written determination of whether there was a violation. 

 The determination must state 
 the basis for the determination 
 the violation, 
 the necessary action(s) to cure, 
 the time to cure, 
 the penalties for not taking the necessary action(s), 
 the process for contesting the determination, and penalties by 

means of an administrative hearing. 
 If the determination is that there is not a violation, the written 

determination must include the basis for the decision and the 
process for contesting the determination. 



Mobile Home Park Dispute Resolution Act

 The party found in violation has seven days to comply with a notice 
of violation. 

 If the party fails to do what is necessary to come into compliance 
then the Division has the authority to impose financial penalties for 
each day that the party fails to come into compliance with the 
Division’s order. 

 The Division can also issue a cease and desist order to stop an 
unlawful practice. 

 The Division can order a party to take actions to include, but not 
limited to, refunds of moneys paid, filing documents that correct a 
violation, and/or taking action to correct a violation. 



Mobile Home Park Dispute Resolution Act

 A party may appeal the decision by requesting a hearing before an 
administrative law judge. 

 The judge shall hear testimony and receive evidence to decide 
whether the Division’s decision is supported by a preponderance of 
the evidence. 

 The judge shall enter an appropriate order within thirty days after 
the hearing and immediately send copies of the order to the 
parties.



Mobile Home Park Act Other Provisions 

 Landlords shall not make any oral or written statement threatening an eviction for 
reasons that are not grounds for terminating a tenancy in a park. 
 Landlords who violate this law may be liable for the groundless threat and a Court may 

award a home owner up to $20,000 in addition to any other remedies authorized by law 

 If a landlord intends to change the use of the park, then the landlord shall provide 
the home owners an offer for 
 Payment of relocation costs to a location of home owner’s choosing within 100 miles or 

 The purchase of the home for the greater amount of $7,500/$10,000 or 100% of the far 
market value of the home 



Mobile Home Park Act Other Provisions 

 Landlords shall not increase rent IF the park:
 Does not have a current, active registration filed with the division of housing 

 Has any unpaid penalties owed to the Division of Housing 

 Has not fully complied with any final agency order issued by Division of Housing 

 Any increases issued in violation of the section are invalid and have no force and 
effect 

 Landlords shall not charge home owners or residents a fee to meet in common 
buildings or spaces in the park except for reasonable cleaning or damage costs 

 Landlords shall host and attend a meeting for residents of the park if requested by 
a home owner or resident  



Mobile Home Park Act Other Provisions  

 Park management shall not harass, intimidate, or threaten or attempt to harass, 
intimidate, or threaten, any person for filing or attempting to file a complaint or 
joining or attempting to join an association of residents or home owners, 
engaging in activities to promote the organizing and education of residents and 
home owners or voting or attempting to vote on a matter before the association 
of residents or home owners or 

 Coerce or require a person to sign an agreement 

 Park management is not permitted to require a home owner to sign a new lease 
or agreement in violation of the MHPA or to mislead a home owner about the 
obligation to sign a new lease agreement 



Mobile Home Park Act Other Provisions 

 Rules regarding accessory buildings/sheds are presumed unreasonable unless the 
rule or regulation 
 Is strictly necessary to protect the health and safety of park residents and the rule or 

regulation provides the protection at the lowest expense to the home owner as is 
reasonable possible 

 Is strictly necessary to comply with or enforce a federal, state, or local government 
requirement, including local nuisance laws enforced for the welfare of other residents 

 Is voluntarily agreed to by the home owner, without coercion or misrepresentation by 
management, in which case the rule or regulation is only binding upon home owners 
who have communicated their written consent to the rule or regulation or 

 In a park managed by home owners, was established by the managing organization in 
accordance with the organization’s bylaws and more than 50% of the home owners are 
members of the organization 

 New home owners may be subject to rules that were not enforceable against 
prior home owners 



Mobile Home Park Act Other Provisions 

 New restrictions on management’s approval of a potential new home 
buyer 

 New notice requirements for selling a park 

 New notice requirements for bilingual home owners and residents for selling 
a park 

 Expands upon a home owners and residents right to pursue a civil action 
against park 

 Updates to the dispute resolution process

 Expands upon rules for record keeping for parks 



Forcible Entry and Detainer 
Procedure for evictions in Colorado 
Must use the court process 
Cannot resort to “self-help”
The Forcible Entry and Detainer Act lists reasons 

a landlord can initiate an eviction action, see 
packet for more information 



First step is receiving a notice or demand



No specific language or state 
form required for notice. 
Description of property 
Date of the termination of tenancy 
Signed by the landlord 
Must be served by statutory deadlines
Example: Month to month requires 21 days 

notice



LEGISLATIVE UPDATE
Demand Requirements 

 Must include statement that tenant who receives supplemental security 
income, social security disability insurance, or cash assistance through 
Colorado Works program has a right to mediation PRIOR TO THE FILING OF A 
COMPLAINT

 This means that landlords can also ask tenants if they receive supplemental 
security income, social security disability insurance, or cash assistance 
through Colorado Works program and such inquiry is not an unfair housing 
practice. 



What to do if you receive a demand or notice?

 Demand for Compliance

 For nonpayment 
 Rental assistance application

 Contact landlord to attempt to 
work out a payment plan 

 For other violations
 Provide your landlord with 

documentation that the violation 
did not occur 

 Provide your landlord with 
documentation showing that the 
violation has been cured. 

 Notice to Quit for Substantial Violation
 Provide your landlord with 

documentation showing that you did 
not commit the substantial violation

 Notice to Quit Repeat Violation
 Provide your landlord with 

documentation showing you did not 
violate the lease provision a second 
time

 Notice to Quit 
 Check your lease to make sure it 

complies with your lease

 Contact your landlord to workout a 
lease extension 

 Prepare to move out of the residence



Next step is being served the 
summons and complaint 



Summons  

 There is language required in the summons. 
Summons must also contain:

List of available resources with a website link and 
phone number for residential tenants to obtain civil 
legal aid and rental assistance.

Copy of a blank answer form 
A form that allows either party to request all documents 

in the landlord’s and tenant’s possession relevant to the 
current action. 

Colorado Revised Statute § 13-40-111



LEGISLATIVE UPDATE 
Summons Requirement 

 In addition to the summons itself, must include a signed affidavit indicating:

 Mediation occurred and was unsuccessful 

 Mediation did not occur due to tenant 
 Failed to disclose in writing eligible for mediation 

 Disclosed in writing was not eligible for mediation 

 Mediation did not occur due to landlord 
 Being a 501(c)(3) organization that offers mediation before filing

 5 or fewer single family rental homes and no more than 5 rental units including 
any single family homes 



LEGISLATIVE UPDATE
Mandatory Mediation

 CRS §13-40-111 requires mediation be offered 

 Mediation must be conducted by neutral third party 
 Mediation is offered at no cost to tenant 

 Landlords are required to pay for Landlord’s portion of mediation. 

 Office of Dispute Resolution shall schedule mediation no later than 14 days 
after landlord’s request 

 Failure to comply with mediation is an affirmative defense
 Local rule in El Paso County is requires hearing because need to prove and 

magistrates will not rule on a motion for default judgment until affidavit of 
compliance is filed into the case 



Service 
Personal service 
Service by posting 
If served by posting, can only receive a 

judgment for possession and not for 
damages 
If you appear on the return date you 

waive personal service 



Answer – Your legal defenses 
in response to the complaint 



Answer and Trial Setting
 Answer due by 5pm on date of return 
 Improper notice defense must be raised in an answer or by 

filing a motion prehearing.
Cannot raise the defense of improper notice for the first 

time at the hearing if it was not raised in the answer or a 
prehearing motion 

 Trial shall be set by the court 7-10 days after an answer is filed 
 Between the filing of an answer and the trial, the Court shall 

order that the landlord or tenant provide any documentation 
relevant to the current action
Colorado Revised Statute § 13-40-113



Curing Nonpayment of Rent

 A landlord who provides a tenant with a proper demand for 
payment shall accept payment of the tenant’s full payment 
of all amounts due according to the notice, as well as any 
rent that remains due under the rental agreement until a 
judge issues a judgment for possession 

 Tenants may pay the amount to the landlord or to the Court. 
Once a Court confirms that the full amount has been timely 

paid, the Court shall 
Vacate any judgments that have been issued and dismiss 

the action with prejudice



Defense: Warranty of Habitability

 If landlord retaliates against a tenant for making a good 
faith complaint to landlord or government 
agency(code) regarding warranty of habitability or 
organizing or becoming a member of a tenants’ 
association or similar organization 

 Tenant can assert the breach of the warranty of 
habitability as a defense to nonmonetary (rule violation, 
notice to quit, etc.) eviction



Make sure to 
appear at 
return date



Writ of Restitution 

Court may issue writ 
of restitution 48 hours 
after entry of 
judgment 

Law enforcement 
cannot execute the 
writ until 10 days after 
judgment



LEGISLATIVE UPDATE
Writ Of Restitution

 IF residential tenant receives supplemental security income, social security 
disability insurance, or cash assistance through Colorado Works program 
then sheriff cannot execute writ of restitution until 30 days after judgment 
enters unless:
 The judgment is based upon the finding that the tenant committed a substantial 

violation pursuant to CRS § 13-40-107.5; or 

 Landlord has 5 or fewer single family renal homes and no more than 5 units 
including any single family homes 



Unlawful removal or exclusion
(Illegal Eviction)

 A tenant who has been unlawfully removed or excluded 
from a dwelling unit may bring a civil action. 

 The civil action is to restrain further violations and to 
recover damages, costs, and reasonable attorney fees.

 If a Court finds that a landlord violates C.R.S. § 38-12-510 
then the tenant must be awarded the actual damages 
AND either 3x the monthly rent or $5,000 (whichever is 
higher)

 A Court may also order that possession is restored to a 
tenant who was unlawfully removed or excluded from a 
dwelling. 



Fair Housing
 Prohibits discrimination based on race, color, disability, sex, 

sexual orientation (including transgender status), national 
origin/ancestry, religion, creed, marital status, and/or familial 
status 
New legislation pending to add gender identity and gender 

expression as protected classes
 Exceptions

Owner-occupied buildings with 4 units or less
Single-family housing sold or rented without the use of a 

broker
Housing operated by organizations and private clubs that 

limit occupancy to members 



Prohibition On Discrimination In Housing 
Based On Source Of Income

 It is an unfair housing practice to discriminate against a person 
based on source of income with certain exceptions.

 Source of income means any lawful and verifiable source of money 
paid directly, indirectly, or on behalf of a person including:
 Income derived from a lawful profession or occupation; and 
 Income or rental payments derived from any government or 

private assistance, grant, or loan program
 Income Discrimination added to Colorado's Unfair Housing 

Practices

https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2020a_1332_signed.pdf
https://leg.colorado.gov/sites/default/files/2020a_1332_signed.pdf


Service Animal vs. Emotional Support Animal

 Service Animal can only be dog or miniature horse
 Trained to do work or perform tasks 

 Covered by Americans with Disability Act 

 NOT A PET 

 Emotional Support Animal 
 Not covered by the ADA

 Possible Fair Housing Protections 

 Reasonable accommodation request 



Reasonable Accommodation

 It is discrimination to refuse to make reasonable 
accommodations necessary to afford a person with 
a disability the equal opportunity to use and enjoy 
the residence 

No magic language to make the request 
Must be in writing
Must state what the accommodation is that you are 

requesting 
Sample letter in the materials 





Questions? 

 Clinton Albert

 calbert@colegalserv.org

 719-471-0380 ext 169

mailto:calbert@colegalserv.org
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